Bhog Offered to Goddess Durgaji on Navratri

Sharada Navaratri

Sharada Navaratri

Celebrating the Mother Goddess DURGA during the Festival of Nine Nights – Navratri

The Nine forms of Mata Durga which is worshipped during Navratra are:


Shailputri Mata is worshipped on Pratipada


Bhog offered to Maa Shailputri — Pure Ghee is offered on the foot of Mother. This blesses the devotee with a disease free life.
Bahmacharini Mata is worshipped on Dwitiya


Bhog Offered to Mata Brahmacharini — Sugar is offered as Bhog to Goddess Brahmacharini. This increases the longevity of the family members.
Chandarghanta Mata is worshipped on Tritiya day


Bhog Offered to Mata Chandraghanta — Offering Kheer or milk or sweets made of milk to Mata Chandraghanta frees the person of all his pains and receives extreme joy and happiness.
Kushmanda Mata is worshipped on Chaturthi day


Bhog Offered to Mata Kushmanda– Malpua as Bhog pleases the Goddess and improves the intellect and decision making ability of the devotee.
Skand Mata is worshipped on Panchami day


Bhog Offered to Mata Skandmata– Banana is offered to the Goddess as Bhog. Offering Banana to the goddess keeps the physique healthy.
Katyayani Mata is worshipped on Shashthi day


 Bhog Offered to Mata Katyayani — Honey is offered as Bhog to Maa Katyayani. This makes the devotee more attractive.
Kaalratri Mata is worshipped on Saptami day


  Bhog Offered to Mata Kaalratri — Jaggery is offered as Bhog to the Mata. Relieves the devotee from all his pains and also reduces the abrupt pains that may arise.
Mahagauri Mata is worshipped on Ashtami day


Bhog Offered to Mata Mahagauri — Coconut is offered to the Goddess as Bhog.  Goddess Mahagauri fulfills the wishes of childless couples with child.
Siddhidatri Mata is worshipped on Navami day.   Bhog Offered to Goddess Siddhidatri — Offering Til as a Bhog. This fast relieves the person from the fear of death and prevents from any unlikely incident.

Navratri fastival continues for nine days. During this period, the different forms of Goddesses Parvati, Lakshami and Saraswati are worshipped respectively for three days each.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *